Most of this history was taken from a research paper done by theTown
Of South Brook with the assistance of a student project. The students who worked on this paper were Neva Burton, Lester
Burton, Cliff Roberts and Gerald Barrett
South Brook is a scenic community situated at the bottom of Hall's Bay.On
one side is the Brook from which the Town gets it's name, and on the other side is a large hill called "Rowsell's Hill", named
after one of South Brook's early settlers.
The first white settlers were lured to South Brook by the abundance of
timber in the area. The three rivers in the area,South Brook,West Brook and Indian River provided easy access to the interior
and it's large stands of timber. This timber would be cut and floated out the rivers to the mills in South Brook and Springdale.The
chief source of income for the settlers was the abundance of salmon in the three rivers.
The Rowsell and Knight families were the first "English" settlers in South
Henry Rowsell,wife Drucella and their children, Eunice, Martha, Luke and George was the first family to settle
here along with the Knight family.The children married and settled elsewhere but the Rowsell's and Knight's are buried in
an old cemetery in South Brook
South Brook was first served by traveling ministers from the Little
Bay Islands charge.According to the records from Little Bay Islands charge,a Rev.C.Myres was stationed there in 1874. He ministered
from Little Bay Islands to South Brook and all points in between.
His first visit to South Brook, was on February 28, 1874. At that time
he baptized three children born to Eli and Rachel Burton. They were, Fanny Ann, aged five years, Emmile, aged three years
and Levi, aged two years.
At the time the Rowsell's and Knight's arrived in South Brook there was
already a band of Indians in the area, living in their own small villages, such as Wigwam Point, Beachy Cove, and Dock Point.
They were Micmac Indians who were trying to preserve their language and lifestyle. The men were resourceful, industrious and
independent, living mainly by hunting, fishing and also serving as guides to people who wished to fish for salmon in the rivers
running into Hall's Bay.
The Micmac's were often hired as guides and helpers by those who were
prospecting for minerals and men surveying the timber in the area. Despite the difference in language and lifestyle, a good
relationship and mutual respect was maintained between the two groups.
The most prominent names were Paul's, Joe's, Jedore's, Bushy and Stevenson.
Steve Stevenson lived in South Brook for many years. Andrew Joe, who was the Chief, accompanied Governor Glover and five other
men into the interior of Newfoundland in 1878 as their guide